slip-sliding away…..

A bird’s eye view

Posted by Yacoob on October 26, 2006

While the world goes on below,
I am free, I am calm.
A place, so far from them all – yet
close enough to reach quickly.

On this day, I am thankful for
it’s absolute beauty.
 

That I am able to experience, in my life,
such beauty.
In the sky, almost…clouds so close,
the warmth of the sun, on this otherwise
chilly summer day.

I see the ocean on one side,
the mountains bordering them.
The bay on the other side:
foamy white waves, crashing
on the shore -

   So lively where they are,
   yet distant from where I sit,

.
Perched up here, the starlings
stopping by on occasion.
I’m in their world now:
a place high up, where
the beauty of this world
can be seen.

.
The world below stretches out,
but i look not at it,
for down there is activity:
busy-ness, and business;
running around; rushing here and there.

.
Work to do, people to call,
places to be.
I revel in this break – this
window of solitude.

.
A peaceful existence up here…

   ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Back on earth, however, life goes on
as usual.
And though my window is shut
again, for now,
I am happy to have my perch, my safehaven…
for up there, I don’t need anything. I don’t
need anyone. It’s just me, the sky, the birds (on occassion),
and my Creator.

.
So rare – nowadays – are moments like this -
    a time to stop.
    a time to be free:
       free of my world,
       free of my usual reality.
A new world. A new vision.
Lying with one eye covered, i’m
almost floating in the clouds:
engulfed in blue and white;

.
no longer constrained by the physical limits down below:
    no buildings, no trees,
    no electricity or things to capture my time.
I am free of all that. I am free of the world.
It’s serene – being detached from it all;
being up where there’s nothing but fresh
air…no desperation, no deception,
no temptation…just here and now.

.
     Nothing else matters.
     Just here and now.

.

     I could die now…leave my life
     behind, because this is peace.
     This is my Blessed place.
     And i hope to always have
     this – or the like thereof…

           . photo0436.jpg

4 Responses to “A bird’s eye view”

  1. faaiq said

    i don’t know if i’ll be able to write poetry. never tried. i should try at least. see how it goes. nice blog Dreamlife. keep it up

  2. Hanna said

    …this is off topic but I was just wondering.. are you the elusive “y” who comments on my blog?

  3. Dreamlife said

    Nope Hanna, that’s not me.

    Interesting blog you have…since i’ve been checking it, its mostly boy stories. are you really that obsessed? ;)

    (actually, i remember being that age as well…hopefully you’ll grow out of it :)

    Faaiq – thing is, maybe you shouldn’t *try* to write it…i mean, write, yes – but, don’t try too hard. thinking is a barrier to creativity…or at least it slows you down. better to just let the words come – and don’t review or evaluate as you’re writing it. just write it and see what comes out.

    when its done, u can always go back and change words and things if you want. but in that 1st go – just let it flow.

  4. saaleha said

    really evocative.
    i suddenly have Scar Tissue looping in my head, “with the birds, i share this lonely view…”

    but your’s is of course, a lot more aspirational.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

