slip-sliding away…..

World-view

Posted by Yacoob on December 13, 2006

Keep the world away.
Don’t turn on the radio.
Keep yourself away from the ideologically-tainted programming that entrenches itself in your home via the TV.

Reject their news media.
Their sensationalism.
Their obsession.
Their unhealthy fascination.

Be free of their poison.
They feed it to you: slowly, constantly, unrelentingly;

Headlines; top stories this hour;
chart shows; advertising -
         “the right to choose” -
the right to choose what they make available to you:

“This week’s ‘must-have’ DVD”;
Dress like the stars;
Live the high life…

     “winners know when to stop”
     “enjoy it responsibly!”

Keep your (de)vices of shame and addiction.

I don’t need your modern-day idolatry:
your disease of celebrity obsession;
your hedonistic pursuits of all that delight the senses -
yet suffocate the soul.

I reject your ideas. Your way of life. Your deen.

Mine may be flawed and faulty – but I’m on the right path.
I don’t drink from your poisoned cup;
I don’t breathe your polluted air.

I exist, I live – hard though it is -
in my own vacumn, with my own boundaries and my own border control.

Stew in the world if you want.
I choose something else.
I choose my own world.

6 Responses to “World-view”

  1. saaleha said

    i like this,
    brings to mind the opening scene in trainspotting, choose life…

  2. alia said

    slms
    well,hmm its been long…funny how i decided to visit your blog today after quite some tym to fynd this…ironic coz i recently (2weeks) started working at a radio station!!lol->>Keep the world away.
    Don’t turn on the radio.
    Keep yourself away from the ideologically-tainted programming that entrenches itself in your home via the TV.>Stew in the world if you want.
    I choose something else.
    I choose my own world.

  3. alia said

    i just wrote a freakin essay and this dumb comp lost it!!!!

  4. Dreamlife said

    ahhh…its not the computer thats dumb…its the lack of reliability – for that moment – which caused your loss.

    hope to read it if u have the patience to re-write it sometime. nice to hear from you again – and all the best for the radio gig :)

    thanx Saaleha. was waiting at the airport this morning, and had some time. turned on the radio, for just a second or 2, and these thoughts came back. they were in my head for a long time already – just never found coherent expression till today.

  5. kimya said

    hey hey hey

    these words string beads ..

    makes one think..

    as ur words always do:)

  6. Saif said

    spot on :)

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

