slip-sliding away…..

What do you call…

Posted by Yacoob on March 7, 2007

A pot plant in a toilet?

A toilet-tree!

And this, good readers, sets the tone for today’s post:

I was pleasantly surprised, last week, to find that the toilets here at work have undergone an ‘upgrade’ of sorts. We now have air freshner, fancy soaps, potpourri, tissue holders and tissues (not to be confused with toilet roll, of course ;) ) and pictures on the walls.

Oh, and our toilet now has a name too. Right there, on the door. A toilet with a name. Imagine that…

These may be superficial improvements, but it makes a huge difference. Especially to someone like me, who is fussy when it comes to cleanliness. The state of a place’s toilets makes a big impression on whether I like the place or not. I’m not fixated on toilets, but the fact is: this little corner of an office, restaraunt or any other place you happen to be in, is very important to everyone. Everyone needs it; everyone uses it; and everyone (I hope) wants to ‘go’ in a place that is clean. Think about it….

Anyway, so in line with this upgrade, there are new designations. Whereas before, anyone was free to use any of the 3 toilets (1 is a disabled toilet, with its own basin), now there are signs: 2 male toilets, and the remaining, bigger one (with the basin) for females and disabled people.

I’ve always been disgusted by the state of most male public toilets. It seems to me that there’s separate toilets for separate genders solely because males can’t seem to use the toilet in a clean way. Well, lots of males, at least.

Now – in line with my cleanliness policy, and in consideration for others, I try to be as clean as possible when using a toilet that others have to use too. The question is now whether I should use the designated male toilets (which have no basin, and are much smaller) – or continue using what is now the designated female toilet (which does have a basin…and flowers too :) ).

So far, I’ve used mostly the female toilet – because I’ve always used it when it was available, instead of the others. Its inconvenient not having a basin – so this is my primary reason for sticking to this particular toilet.

However, whenever I go now, I do have a small worry about whether I’d be ‘caught’ – and reminded of the new gender designations. So far, a cleaning lady and my boss have spotted me going into ‘their’ toilet…but this has not deterred me.

My reasoning is that I’ve always used it; and I try my very best to be absolutely clean – and therefore do not cause the problems that some other males do when they ‘go’. So, I don’t need to feel guilty about it at all, and I don’t want to change toilets just because we have new signs on the doors.

Some might have a problem with this, though. But I’m not one of them ;)

Any thoughts? Should I conform, or retain my independent toilet choice?

5 Responses to “What do you call…”

  1. Fatima said

    You will not surrender your toilet!
    They will not take your freedoommmmm!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Saifullah said

    ‘go’ in peace :P

  3. Dreamlife said

    i go in peace, yes :)

    i’m over the worry over that now. so far, no problems.

  4. alia said

    hey!!! as long as you dont infect our toilets or invite other male counterparts to it!!!

    i must admit if teh ladies toilets are not up to scratch i often slip into the disabled ones which are mostly unoccupied and clean with a handy nearby basin..
    nice post-toilet talk, hmm who woulda thunk it?anyway
    peace, al

  5. Zahera said

    loolll! loved this blog entry ;-)
    Aslong as you remember to put the seat down its all good! I hate public toilets- i refuse to use them. I have to be really desperate.

Leave a Reply

»
 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

