slip-sliding away…..

The closing of 2011

Posted by Yacoob on December 23, 2011

And so we come to the end of another calendar year, which will predictably be accompanied by year-end reviews, personal reflections, and ‘best of’ lists. For me, it’s been a momentous year – with Hajj the biggest highlight of course (as you may have noticed from the content of posts for the past few months).

But there were also other significant happenings. For example, it was the year my physical attachment to the city of my birth finally came to an end. It was also the five year anniversary of my entry into the world of blogs – significant because of how important this platform has become to me as an outlet for self-expression. And Ramadan, of course, was one of the most special yet – not just because of the beauty of the month, but also because it served, partially, as a preparation for the most important journey of my life – Hajj.

Hajj itself was incredible – starting in the most amazing city of Madinah, then Makkah, and the actual days of Hajj, then the beautiful yet embattled land of Palestine afterwards (all of which are being chronicled). If you’ve been disappointed by the lack of variety on this blog in the last few months, you can blame it all on Hajj – because it’s a journey that’s so consumed me, not only during the period I was away, but even up to now. In addition to the series started on this blog, I’ve also begun the version for a multi-faith audience (which you can find here) – and I have big plans for that insha-Allah, and if you have a chance, please have a look – and direct your non-Muslim friends or family to it, if they’re interested in what the Hajj is.

Coming back home after seven weeks, I’ve gone through different phases of inspiration and deflation – highs and lows, but always yearning to retain the specialness of that experience; but knowing that I can’t hold onto it like I want to – for feelings fade, as will memories…but that’s why writing about it is so important to me; as a capturer of the experience that I hope to re-read for years to come, until – insha-Allah – I can go back and make some new memories.

The last couple of weeks have been tumultuous at work, with a sudden disaster that’s knocked half the company’s employees out of a job. Thankfully for me, I was one of the survivors – but I still recognise the instability of the situation, and know that I’ll need to get out of my comfort zone and start looking at other opportunities – in case the worst happens next year.

It really hit me this week, when all the members of my team said their goodbyes – leaving me the only one left, other than my team leader. Four years I’ve been at this company, and things have always been good. And then, in the space of a few days, everything shattered. Jobs were lost, families affected, some fortunate enough to keep a job were humbled by demotion due to downsizing – and the happy-go-lucky atmosphere that so often prevailed in that building turned to one of somberness and idleness, as many either didn’t have work to do, or didn’t have motivation to do the work they were still being paid to do.

It’s a lesson for everyone that we can never put our reliance on a company, boss, or other created being. God alone is the Provider, and He alone provides for us – with jobs and companies only the visible means we perceive.

And when a calamity like that hits, it serves as a wake-up call – a reminder of human fragility, and a means of drawing us closer to Him.

As I worked my last day of the year today and then left, I remembered the times of old – the other ‘last days’ of my life: the last days of the school year; the days of the final exam in a varsity year; the other last working days of the year in this current job.

And while I can go into this holiday relaxed, I know that it may be the last time I can do that for a while – because come this time next year, if I’m alive to see it, circumstances may be very different – and I might not be able to relax.

In any case, whatever must come will come; and from my end, all I need to do is my best – putting complete reliance in Allah, trusting that He’ll bring the best out of whatever my future holds, and being content with the outcomes – even if they look bleak at first.

It may seem like a depressing year end for me, but it isn’t. Personally, I’m in the best state that I’ve been in for all the year ends in my life; and I hope to keep the drive up and go on to greater things – in line with the personal ambitions which have now been defined for the rest of my life.

It feels good to know my purpose in life. Not just the general one that we as Muslims believe in (i.e. to worship Allah) – but a specific one, uniquely fitted to who I am, what I have, and what I can – insha-Allah – achieve in my remaining days on Earth.

So to close off this post (though not necessarily my last of 2011), I ask you – dear reader: what were your highlights of 2011? And, going forward, what significant things do you hope to achieve in the coming years?

Image source

One Response to “The closing of 2011”

  1. Azra said

    Let me just say. I come here many times and feel reluctant to comment because I don’t want to “taint” the beauty and “purity” of your soul and state of mind with my presence. Especially with the Hajj posts. Seriously.

    I can relate to how you feel about your journey, even though I can’t relate to the experience of the journey myself. Perhaps one day soon InshaAllah. I know what it’s like to become wrapped up in the spiritual. Things transcend ritual obligation and you want to hold on to the moment for as long as possible. When I was in Jerusalem, I didn’t want to leave. Even when I had guns pointed at my head at 5am outside Al-Quds, I felt the strangest (strongest) feeling of tranquillity and calmness. And I wanted to hold on to that forever.

    Anyways, a few weeks ago I dreamt the world was going to end in 2013 <<<- That has absolutely nothing to do with anything.

    I left 2011 (profoundly) spiritually stronger, in a way that I've never been before. And the lesson came from a non-Muslim. I've discovered that we can never underestimate where the lesson comes from. Allah SWT works wonders and in mysterious ways.

    Honestly, I don't know what 2012 has in store. But I've been on a certain path for the past 5 years and it's all led me here to this moment in time. Every good and bad thing has led me here (and trust me there were way more bad things) and I begin to see the wisdom of things. And I'm so grateful, Alhamdulilah for all of it. Such clarity, inspiration and (ongoing) knowledge doesn't come from me.

    Hope things get easier at work. We live in volatile times. Nothing is secure. So we have to take each day as it comes and be grateful for it :)

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 64 other followers

