slip-sliding away…..

Glimpses from Makkah

Posted by Yacoob on May 16, 2012

A collection of a few shots from Masjid-al Haram in Makkah.

(You can view the gallery by clicking, or for larger versions, right click the shot you want and open it in a new tab / window).

Sources: Pictures 1,2, and 6 are from other people, but 3, 4, 5 are mine.

6 Responses to “Glimpses from Makkah”

  1. Azra said

    I like the first pic, because very rarely do you see the place in its entirety. Although I must admit, something about that clock tower makes me uncomfortable. Bet you miss it huh? :)

  2. Dreamlife said

    “very rarely do you see the place in its entirety” – well, that’s why Google Earth was such an amazing invention. You can see so many places on earth from above…and now Street View just makes it more awesome.

    That clock itself seems like a monster – towering over the Kabah – but from down in the masjid, it isn’t really a big deal at all, and I don’t think I paid it much attention. Besides, it actually served as a very important landmark for me when I got lost on the walk from Arafah to Muzdalifah – so I can’t critiscise it :)

    It’s weird how feelings about a place change. At first, I didn’t like Makkah much. Madinah was so much calmer and more peaceful, and the people were nicer – and Makkah was just the opposite. But those are the feelings that came because I took it for granted while we were there. Once we left – and even up to now – I missed it, and regret not making the best use of my time there.

    And now that it’s Umrah season and so many people are going, it deepens those feelings.

    I’d definitely recommend that anyone who can, does go – even if they aren’t so religious. Madinah and Makkah are such spiritually pure places – different worlds – and just being in the environments, even if you don’t really push yourself in worship – is a tremendous experience.

  3. Azra said

    Makkah and Madinah are all that my Dad ever talks about. He’s been twice and it’s like he can’t get enough. Sadly, I don’t have a Mahram to accompany me to these places – no brothers, husband, sons, available uncles etc. and I cannot count on my father because we don’t live together and he has to see to his wife and her family. So I will just dream. I did have a splendid time in Jerusalem at Masjidul Aqsa though.

  4. Nadeem said

    you can find more here: https://www.facebook.com/groups/293723247393152/

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 64 other followers

