Hajj Chronicles Part 10: Hijra

slip-sliding away.....

Previous posts in this series: Parts 1 to 9

Mountains between Madinah and Makkah Mountains between Madinah and Makkah

Goodbye

While I fell in love with Madinah, the truth is I eventually became too comfortable there. And because there seemed to be too few outings / tours, it actually felt a bit boring at times (to be totally honest). Nonetheless, Madinah was an awesome experience, and amazing preparation for what was to follow. Our sheikh had told us about Madinah being like a furnace – it either purifies the people that go there, or it kicks out those who are not pure.

I felt like it was the former for me: the time there helped disconnect me from the world, reconnect me to my Creator, and purify me (to some degree at least) from the spiritual diseases that resided in me. The final night in Madinah also brought tremendous inspiration for me. In previous years…

View original post 2,414 more words

Leave a Reply

