Ramadaan update

Ramadaan

It’s the fourth night of Ramadaan, and Alhamdullilah, I’m feeling the spirit all around me. We’re blessed to live in close proximity to three masjids, so we hear the athaan from them all, and the dhikrs that are made over the loudspeakers.

When driving home at night from the masjid, I need only turn on the radio – to one of the two Muslim community stations we have – to hear taraweeh recitation from elsewhere in the city.

My own masjid is blessed to have a wonderful group of hufaadth who recite beautifully, and at a good pace, though I too often can’t enjoy that as much as I want to because physical fatigue always comes over me. I have zero stamina…and it’s not because of tiredness from the day. We’re on the doorstep of Winter here, and we have one of the shortest fasting days in the world (less than 12 hours). But, I’m hoping this little invention might help – because I find that water on the face is refreshing enough to pull me through when the tiredness sets in.

Although it’s been a slow start to the month personally, it’s been steady. Consistent. There hasn’t been craziness from the kids or home environment (which is usually what robs me of the solitude and opportunity to really feel this month). I’ve been able to do a few things each night, without exerting myself much or feeling it to be an insincere routine.

And really, to me, that’s always the best approach: small and consistent. If you’ve been reading my blog for a while, you’ll know how much I love quoting the hadith about the most beloved deeds to Allah being those that are consistent, even if they be few / small. And so that’s what I’m running on thus far.

Later in the month, I hope to get some personal i’tikaaf time – though probably not the full sleepover. I remember how amazing it was for me last year…and I desperately want that again. As mentioned before, it’s been a tough year…but Alhamdullilah, things have really turned better in recent months. The only thing missing, though, is the rain. Please make dua for us to get it, otherwise Cape Town is headed for….I don’t even know. It’s unimaginable for such a huge city to run out of water.

Anyway, how has your Ramadaan been going? Let me know in the comments section, and if you’re doing anything extra special this year – which is really boosting your spirit – tell me about it. We could all benefit from your story 🙂

Image source

 

One thought on “Ramadaan update

  1. Alhamdulillah. As for this Ramadan, I made slight changes to my morning routine and although it’s still unsteady, I’m slowly getting the feel of prioritizing my dhikr before I head on for the day. And also, mastering my emotions. I think it’s important to check our emotions now and then. It’s put me in check so that I can worship Allah better. Ramadan Kareem!

Leave a Reply

